“No one who cooks, cooks alone. Even at her most solitary, a cook in the kitchen is surrounded by generations of cooks past, the advice and menus of cooks present, the wisdom of cookbook writers.” 
― Laurie Colwin

When you Google “Cooking Blog,” you are shown 253,000,000 results. So, why would I choose to create another cooking blog? Because, when those millions type their recipes, take their pictures, and come up with a blurb about the featured dish, they are presenting their perspective on their food. For me, food is not just a temporary indulgence or a way to fuel the body. It is a conduit that links me to my childhood, a wormhole back to a cherished vacation memory, or a reminiscence of the first time I tried that interesting ingredient. I also use food now to create memories in my family and my life. Nothing I know of can so engage the senses and bring to the present what lies only in my mind.

So I will endeavor to share with you the recipes of my past as well as new foods that create instant memories. Hopefully, you will get a glimpse into a time or a place that only I can remember fully, but that you will be able to share with me vicariously. Or maybe, you can use some of these recipes to inspire new memories for yourself.

-C

